

Gokaraju Rangaraju Institute of Engineering and Technology (Autonomous)

23rd Annual Day 2020

Gokaraju Rangaraju Institute of Engineering and Technology celebrated its 23rd Annual Day on 29 February 2020. Annual Day is celebrated to renew progress and rededicate ourselves for growth and Nation building. Also, to honor and encourage our students who have excelled in academics and sports.

The Presiding Officer of the event, Dr. Jandhyala N Murthy - the Director of the Institute gave the welcome remarks. He emphasized the need to be abreast of the latest technologies such as IOT and AI among others. The Chief Guest of the event, Sri. T Shyla Kumar, Head - Data Sciences and Architecture, smart cities platform at Larsen and Toubro, Hyderabad, addressed the students and stressed the need to learn real time Data Science in a competitive world. Also, entrepreneurs even with small start-up ideas can succeed with good results. Dr. J. Praveen, the Principal of the Institute presented the Annual Report, elaborating the progress made by the Institute, since its inception and the road map for future.

Endowment Awards were presented to students who excelled in academics and for those students who represented GRIET at the National and State levels in sports, Trophies were presented. The event also had a blend of Cultural activities by the students.

The event organized by the Department of Humanities and Sciences was well attended by the Heads of various departments, Deans, faculty members, students and parents of award winners.

Endowment Awards

1. JSL Memorial Award:

Initiated by Dr. Jandhyala N Murthy in the Memory of his Wife Late Smt. Jandhyala Subbalakshmi garu. It is awarded to the toppers of II B.Tech II B.Tech Mechanical & EEE branch students.

The award winners are

- Devasani Priyanka of II B.Tech EEE.
- Sardar Harshit Singh of II B.Tech Mechanical Engineering.

2. Vadlamudi Rama Naidu Memorial Scholarship Award:

Initiated in the year 2010 by Sri. Hiteshwar Vadlamudi in the Memory of his Grand Father Late Sri.Vadlamudi Rama Naidu. It is awarded to the Topper of I B. Tech of all branches

The award winner is K. Harika of I B.Tech CSE.

3. Adapa Kristaiah Memorial Award: Initiated in the year 2012 by Dr. Adapa Rama Rao in Memory of his Father Late Sri. Adapa Kristaiah garu. It is awarded to the Topper of I B. Tech Mechanical branch.

The award winner is D. Sai Vikas Reddy of I B.Tech Mechanical Engineering.

4. Mrs. & Mr. Mastan Endowment Award: Initiated in the year 2013 by Dr. Mohammed Hussain in the Memory of his Parents Mrs. & Mr. Mastan. It is Awarded to the Topper of "Water Resources Engineering I & II" in III B. Tech Civil Engineering.

The award winner is Ganna Ravalika of III B.Tech Civil Engineering.

5. Alumnus Award for Academic Excellence was initiated by GRIET Alumni Association.

It is awarded to the Toppers of II B. Tech CE, ECE, CSE and IT branches.

The award winners are

- Seshani Anjali of II B.Tech Civil Engineering.
- Anwesha Nayak of II B.Tech ECE.
- Ineedu Sai Nikhila of II B.Tech ECE.
- Mohammed Adil Yousuf of II B.Tech CSE.
- Akula Poojitha Seshan of II B.Tech IT.
- Mettu Shreeja Reddy of II B.Tech IT.

6. GRIET Merit Scholarship Award:

GRIET Merit Scholarship is awarded to Kancharla Sai Ratna Prudhvi of IV B.Tech CSE for obtaining 1408 rank in EAMCET.

7. Sports Awards:

- K. Dhiran Yadav of III B.Tech Civil Engineering for representing All India Inter University Championship in Wrestling.
- M. Venkat Sai Kiran of I B. Tech IT for representing All India Inter University Championship in Taekwondo.
- N. Sagar Reddy of IV B. Tech ECE for representing South Zone Inter University Championship in Kho-Kho for 4 times.
- K. Prashanth of IV B. Tech CSE for representing South Zone Inter University Championship in Yoga for two times.
- V. Sowjanya of III B.Tech CSE for representing South Zone Inter University Championship in Ball Badminton.

8. Best Supporting Staff Award 2018-2019:

Two best supporting staff awards, one for Technical support and the other for administration support was initiated by Sri P S Raju Garu, founder principal and former Director of GRIET.

The award winners are:

- Best supporting staff Technical : Mr. Sushil Kawre
- Best supporting staff Administration : Ms. Rohini Latha